Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_20180402_213750_675.jpg

I hate looking for you –
HATE IT!
I hate –
Watching for you
It makes me sick!
And when you don’t
Notice me I
“STOMACH IN! CHEST OUT!”
And when you look up
All I can say is –
“Hey.”
HEY?!
Is this the best I’ve got?
With all this Poetry
In my Mind and Heart?
And all I have is this
Pathetic and mundane
Standard issue
Commentary?
When the fact is
I want to have all
The conversations about
What matters to you
And what matters to me –
And I try –
But then I have no filter
And I see the panic
In your eyes
And I cannot slow
Down or fall back –
I slam on the breaks
And clam up
Just like that!
And I want to be open
With you –
I swear I do –
But this is my design flaw –
I cannot reach out
Even though I want to.
And so I say
“Hey!”
And hope you’re in a
Conversational mood
So that you may ask me
Questions and so that
I may answer you.
So that you may speak
Your mind
So that I listen to you
And maybe –
MAYBE
I could string along
An entire sentence
To tell you
That I –