Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_20191218_163006_643.jpg

I think it was a Friday.
You were sitting next to me
In silence.
You set your phone down
On the table top,
Resolute,
Like there was something
In your mind that you’d
Decided.
Like you had all these questions
And you figured that
I should answer them.
You decided to put a voice
To them,
And it was here that we
Started talking.
Not about the weather
Of the day,
Nothing off the regular
And mundane
Old checklist of items
That strangers observe
When they try to engage –
When they’re trying
To find a way
In.
We didn’t talk about
Colours and foods
And whether we found
Joy in the jobs that we do –
No.
We didn’t talk about any
Of these things.
You –
You took my hand
And we dove right in.
But –
That was a day gone past,
And
Since then, we haven’t spoken
Anything like that.
And I –
I find myself wishing
That I knew you,
Because I honestly would
Like to.
But you keep yourself
Apart from me.
And I wonder
Why you won’t just let me…