Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s the sound of a
Chorus of car
Engines
That alerts me
That the city’s
Waking up.
It used to be
The song
Of the morning’s
Birds but I guess
Right now
That they must
Have flown
“Flown South”.
The air is cold
Despite my
Windows being
Closed
And I haven’t heard
That shrill cry
From my resident
Mosquito.
And even though
My clock
Tells me it’s closer
To 6 than 5 am
I can see
It’s picth
Dark outside.
Winter is coming
And it’s another
Season gone
And I realize
That it’s been
So long
Since
The last time
I saw your face
Or heard your name
Or wondered
How you are
Again.
Summer’s already
Making its way
To another hemisphere
And you remain
Far
Away.
I wonder if you
Perceive time as
I do
As another day
Lost to
Another of my dreams
That has yet to
Come true.
Winter is coming
And the year will be
Half-gone, soon
And I wonder
If you’ll still remain
Uninspired to move β€”